8 Tips to Beat Winter Skin

I loathe being cold. It’s just not my thing. And it’s not my skin’s thing either. Every winter it seems that I battle painful cracked hands, chapped lips, and skin so dry that it hurts after I shower! Moving to Ohio last year, forced me to make some changes in my routine, that has made allllllll the difference in my winter skin and wanted to share them with you – because winter skin sucks!

1) Drink plenty of water – it is recommended that we drink HALF our body weight in ounces every day. If we drink anything with caffeine or bubbles, we will want to replace that with additional water. (Example: A 120lb person should drink 60 fluid ounces of water, if they drink a 16 oz coffee, they need to consume a total of 76 oz of water).

face_splash_water_clean_beauty_woman_health

2) Increase your Omega-3 Fatty Acids – Omega 3’s are great for helping our insides as well as our outside, they provide cushion for our joints, power our brain, encourage our heart health, and do wonders for the skin. Great sources come from fish and can also be found in flax meal and chia seeds. Consider supplementation from a quality source. What’s good quality?! If you put your supplement into the freezer, it shouldn’t get cloudy or freeze over, and burp up that fishy taste – it could be a sign of a poor source of omega 3’s or a rancid oil. Below is the one I use & recommend. It’s endorsed by Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine, Dr. Lou Ignaro Ph.D.

0065_herbalifeline_us_400

3) Read your ingredients on your products – alcohol helps products dry off your face, but also inhibits total moisture and can even cause drying…read your ingredients and see how close it is to the beginning of the ingredient list. If “alcohol” doesn’t show up, check for scientific names (anything ending in “-ol” is chemistry’s way of saying alcohol). Aloe is a very soothing and hydrating ingredient and something I completely recommend. See below for my exact morning routine.

4) Don’t dry off before applying moisturizer – Learn to love wet rugs in your bathroom. The best way to lock in all over hydration is to STOP drying completely off! Ring out your hair with a towel, pat your face quickly just so you can open your eyes, and immediately lather up with moisturizer head to toe.

5) Consider adding in coconut oil – All of my products are the same year round. The only difference is that I add in coconut oil to my routine in the winter. It goes on my face and all over my body before I apply my daily moisturizer. I feel a little like a greased muffin tin for a bit, and my cat thinks I smell tasty enough to lick…its awkward…but I hang out in a t-shirt and shorts while I finish getting ready and my skin stays crazy soft all day and all night long! (This goes for my hair too! See my DIY leave in spray below).

Coconut Oil

6) Turn Masks and treatment creams into Spot Treatments – I love love love my Mint Clay Mask…but it’s designed to pull out oils, which can over dry your face and in turn cause it to go into overdrive oil production (YIKES!) This goes for acne treatments too. I tend to be the person that thinks “Well, if a little is good, then LOTS has to be awesome!” … Not always the best thought process and especially in the winter with dry skin. Instead, I apply my weekly mask just to my Twe-Zone because that place sweats when I workout and actually gets oily, whereas the rest of my face doesn’t. And I use an acne lotion AFTER I have applied my moisturizers to just where I breakout instead of all over.

7) SUNSCREEN SUNSCREEN SUNSCREEN – After working for a dermatologist, and watching skin cancer surgeries, I have very clearly learned that sunscreen must be on your face and body YEAR round, not just in the summer time. Most people skip this in the winter and it’s a huge no no! The most common places I saw skin cancer was on left side of the face (because that side faces the window when we drive, and the back of the left hand, again, because that’s the hand that gets exposure when we drive).Make sure you are applying a broad spectrum SPF and that the skin cancer foundation endorses it.

Herbalife Sunscreen

8) What goes IN must come OUT – The things we put into our bodies have to come out in one way or another. If your skin is really struggling and you have followed the 7 tips prior, make sure you have your diet in check. If we’re eating lots of processed, high fat, and sugary foods but lacking in our fruits, veggies, and protein it will show up in our skin. I advice getting with a nutrition and health coach that can look over your daily diet and make suggestions to help you get on a plan that is based off your height, weight, age, and gender.

Here’s my routine that has helped tremendously! All the products I use are paraben-free, sulfate-free, dermatologist tested, and animal cruelty free!

Herbalife Skin

  1. Herbal Aloe Hand & Body Wash for my body & Soothing Aloe Facial Cleanser for my face (double wash in the shower, first to rinse off dirt, sweat, and makeup, next actually cleans the pores. Always make gentle circles on your face, don’t go crazy and scrub hard – it won’t help)
  2. Energizing Herbal Toner (its a spray that helps lock in hydration, and it’s alcohol free)
  3. Coconut Oil – I just scoop out the size of walnut and it goes head to toe while my skin still has water droplets on it.
  4. Daily Glow Moisturizer with SPF 20 goes onto my face before I apply a BB cream.
  5. Herbal Aloe Soothing gel to any spot where I shaved, totally prevents razor burn!
  6. Herbal Aloe Body Cream to my body and under my eyes to remove old mascara.
  7. Herbal Aloe Body Lotion with SPF goes onto my  body where the sun will shine – hands, neck  & ears

I also use the Herbal Aloe products on my hair. And when I get out of the shower, I spray my hair with a mix of 4oz warm water + 1 tsp herbal aloe concentrate + 1 tsp coconut oil. This keeps for awhile. I put in the shower when I am in there because the heat will turn the coconut oil into a liquid again.

Hope this helps everyone beat the winter skin blues! If you’re wanting to order any of the products mentioned in the article, send an email to: Coach.Jacqulyne@gmail.com

***I don’t claim to cure, treat or prevent anything including dry skin…this is just my routine and what has personally helped me.***

Leave a Reply

